TDU News: Two Former Winners Return To Tour Down Under


The 2011 Santos Tour Down Under will see former winners Simon Gerrans and Michael Rogers return to the race.

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director Mike Turtur today confirmed that the two Aussies will compete on their home soil in January 2011 with the British-based Team Sky.

“As Aussie cycling legends and past winners of the Santos Tour Down Under, the arrival of Rogers and Gerrans will be great for cycling fans and I’d expect to see some strong performances,” says Mike Turtur.

Michael Rogers won the Santos Tour Down Under in 2002 and Simon Gerrans in 2006.

“Gerrans is a great cyclist and has shown his class by winning stages in all three Grand Tours.

“Mick Rogers will be one to watch in Adelaide as he debuts with his new team. His overall wins in the 2010 Tour of California and Tour of Adalucia shows he is as strong competition as ever.

“Team Sky will be a force to be reckoned with as they field a competitive team line-up, including Greg Henderson, Christopher Sutton, Mathew Hayman and Ben Swift, who all raced here last year.”

At the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under, Greg Henderson won the Cancer Council Classic criterium and Christopher Sutton won the final stage of the race.

Team Sky is Britain’s professional road cycling team and made their debut at the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under.

The 2011 Santos Tour Down Under will be held in Adelaide and regional South Australia from 16-23 January 2011. For further information visit


About Author

Adelaide's first positive news website, focusing on the best of South Australian events, news, businesses and more. To sign your business up as a Glam Adelaide member, please contact [email protected]